J Cole is one of the finest voices of his generation. This joint deepens his versatility, showcasing the idea that introspection has its softer and harder edges. It’s an internal monologue about relationships, love, and sex, spoken aloud without pretenses or censoring. The album from it comes is essentially an audio diary, and this is one its more candid and gripping chapters.

When I listen to Cole I feel like I’m having a conversation with an old friend. For whatever reason, his music takes me back to the carefree discovery of new music and new people during my HS years. FB has allowed me to connect with a lot of people from MAST, people I considered good friends or with whom I wished I could have been better friends (to quote Morrissey: “Shyness is nice, but shyness will stop you…”). To this day I wish some of those friendships could evolve beyond the digital arena.

#AAHMusic

 

A side note: I’ve been posting videos each day of February, but only today have figured out the best hashtag. African American History Month means a lot to me, and I’m going to express it through music. There’s so much more to be said about each song I post, but I’ll keep it simple; there’s so much more to be said about what this month means to me, but I’ll let the music speak for me.