If you know me, you know that I’m inspired by reading about others’s creative processes, and I’m always fascinated by articles about music in general. This Rolling Stone piece covers both, and focuses on two of the best to ever do it, NoID and Jay-Z, whose collaborative album 4:44 just came out on June 30th. My review will likely follow, but I can tell you this much: I haven’t liked an album this much upon first listen in a long time.

Jay-Z and No ID in the studio.


Conversations“, via @cubansoze

What strikes me about the described process is that NoID explains the process in a way that I always imagined it working best, especially how he reflects on the creation of a musical playlist, intentional use of samples, and a true dialogue between artists that pushed Jay to stretch his voice. I’ll let you read the rest, but suffice it to say I really want to get creative. ASAP.

http://www.rollingstone.com/music/features/444-producer-no-id-talks-pushing-jay-z-creating-500-ideas-w490602

